Q & A with Makini Regal Designs

MAKINI REGAL DESIGNS: FINE FLORALS & EVENTS

Image

Image

Tell us a bit about yourself and when you first became interested in becoming a Floral Designer… what/who inspires you?

Both my grandmothers are avid gardeners and flower enthusiasts, so I always appreciated the beauty of flowers. Watching them tend to their gardens with such affection made me appreciate their fragility and my interest in flowers bloomed into a passion. A desire to learn coupled with a great respect for floral artistry inspired me to enroll in a floral design program. Upon completion, I relinquished my tenure as a Senior Analyst for a Management Consulting firm and launched Makini Regal Designs, a boutique floral and event design company.

Image

What is your favorite flower?

It’s so hard to choose and varies often! Orchids are a staple in every corner of my home. They have a simplistic beauty that makes them such a great statement piece. I am especially fond of Phalaenopsis and Cymbidums and use them in my designs as often as I can. Peonies are also another favorite and make exquisite, fragrant bouquets. Ranunculi are lush, happy and add a touch of gaiety to every occasion.

Image

Where do you get inspiration for your floral designs?

My Brooklyn upbringing and Trinidadian roots are deeply woven into me and inspire everything I do. I also find inspiration daily, from nature, to fashion to colors and textures. My design process, however, is organic – I don’t always fully conceptualize the pieces until I arrive at the flower market, right before an event. Once I choose my primary bloom everything else falls into place, almost magically. I approach each design with an open mind and a fresh approach and try to incorporate even the smallest of detail that will compliment each, unique event.

Image

How would you describe your style?

Makini Regal Designs fuses both classical and contemporary elements with just a touch of whimsy. The result is a unique design suitable for any event, from traditional to avant-garde. We take the needs of our clients very seriously and strive very hard to conceptualize their style and ideas and deliver a stunning final product.

Image

What advice would you offer to brides looking for a great florist for their wedding day?

 Your wedding is one of the most important days of your life, so every detail has to be perfectly executed. Flowers play such a huge part of your wedding decor so it is important that you choose someone who understands design and can execute your vision. Be prepared for your consultation. Photos of your wedding dress, swatches of your table linen and magazine clippings of your favorite designs can all be helpful in understanding your wedding style. The more information that you can provide your floral designer, the easier it will be for them to create floral artistry that will be sure to wow you and your guests.

Image

See more of Makini Regal Designs

ImageImage

Image    Image

